Advanced Manufacturing Engineering Level 3 (AME)

The Advanced Manufacturing Engineering qualification needed for the Engineering Technician Standard.

What is the Advanced Manufacturing Engineering Level 3 Diploma?


The Level 3 in Advanced Manufacturing Engineering is a staple in terms of engineering knowledge. It is a BTEC Specialist qualification, similar to the BTEC Nationals 2010 (QCF). It is available in different sizes, 3, 6, 9, 12 and 18 units. There are different pathways, such as Mechanical, Electrical/Electronic or Motorsport. The Aerospace and Aviation Diploma uses the same core units.


Each unit can be delivered individually, contact us for more information.


Each unit is graded at Pass, Merit or Distinction.


Level 3 is broadly equivalent to A’ Levels



Each pathway and size, will have different tariff points available, depending on the grade achieved. Grades available are Pass, Merit, Distinction

Progression Opportunities

This is a linear programme and students can progress from the Foundation Award to the Award, then to the Certificate and on to the Diploma.


Students who gain enough UCAS tariff points will be able to apply to the HNC Engineering (RQF)


Industry Support


These qualifications are supported by:


– the Advanced Engineering and Manufacturing Apprenticeship Employer Group, which includes Jaguar Land Rover, Toyota, Ford, BMW, Vauxhall, Aston Martin, Nissan, GTA England

-the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) professional society for the engineering and technology community

-the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) professional engineering institution

SEMTA, the Sector Skills Council for the Engineering sector

-the National Forum of Engineering Centres (NFEC)

Awarding Organisation (AO)

Pearson (Edexcel)







You may also like…