BTEC Level 3 National Subsidiary Diploma in IT


6 Units, 60 Credit Engineering course

SKU: 500/9147/5 Categories: , Tags: , , ,

What is the BTEC Level 3 National Subsidiary Diploma in IT?


The Subsidiary Diploma in IT qualification is a technical level qualification which will help the learner to move up to a Higher Education (HE) qualification. It will give the learner an excellent foundation at technician level and can be incorporated into an apprenticeship. There are mandatory units which are common to all engineering disciplines, and the optional units to make up the 30, 60, 90, 120 or 180 credits.

The Subsidiary Diploma in IT are accredited on the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF)  .


The BTEC qualifications in this specification have been developed in the IT sector to:


Give education and training for IT employees

Give IT employees opportunities to achieve a nationally recognised level 3 vocationally-specific qualification

Give full-time learners the opportunity to enter employment in the IT sector or to progress to vocational qualifications such as the Edexcel BTEC Higher Nationals in Computing and Systems Development

Give learners the opportunity to develop a range of skills and techniques, personal skills and attributes essential for successful performance in working life.


What does the course consist of?

The Subsidiary Diploma in IT is 60 credits – 6 Units. There are various sizes of qualification from a single unit worth 10 credits, to an extended diploma worth 180 credits.



60 Credits – 6 Units – Equivalent to 1 A’ Levels 


Mandatory Units 

Unit 001 – Communication and Employability Skills for IT

Unit 002 – Computer Systems


Optional Unit – choose 1 of the following:

Unit 003 – Information Systems

Unit 004 – Impact of the Use of IT on Business Systems

Unit 008 – e-Commerce

Unit 009 – Computer Networks

Unit 010 – Communication Technologies

Unit 011 – System Analysis and Design

Unit 012 – IT Technical Support

Unit 017 – Project Planning with IT

Unit 019 – Computer Systems Architecture

Unit 034 – Business Resources


The Subsidiary Diploma in IT units are delivered via our Learning Management System online, so is available 24/7. Assessment is through our e-portfolio, which is where you upload your assignments to. We have a wealth of experience within the team to support you through your studies.


Who is the Course aimed at?

The Subsidiary Diploma in IT course is ideal if you are unable to attend a college or university, due to work or family commitments. If you are looking to further your career or you need the qualifications for a promotion or career change, this course deals with materials around computing


What are the entry requirements?

3 GCSE’s, English, Maths and IT ideally.

Non-native English speakers and those students who have not had their final two years of schooling in English will need to demonstrate one of the following upon entry:

Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR) B2

IELTS 5.5 (including 5.5 for reading and writing)

PTE 51 or equivalent


Who is this Course for?

The Subsidiary Diploma in IT is for those working as technicians, who would like to take the next step, or those who would like a career change.

All credits can be used for larger qualifications and are eligible for UCAS points for those seeking entry into University, or onwards to Higher Education, such as the HNC in Computing and Systems Development.


How long do I get to complete this course?

You are allowed 12 months to complete the Subsidiary Diploma in IT from registration. Your progress can be monitored in OneFile as we will program your start and finish dates. If you do not complete within the given time, you can extend on a unit by unit basis at the individual unit price.



Awarding Organisation (AO)

Pearson (Edexcel)




Online, Remote






12 Months