Essential Communication Skills (ECommS) – Level 2


Our Essential Skills Wales (2015) qualifications in Essential Communication Skills (Levels 1-3) are made up of 3 skills areas: speaking and listening, reading, writing.

SKU: 601/6839/0 Categories: , , Tags: , ,
Please share:
What is Essential Communication Skills (ECommS)?

These qualifications are about demonstrating skills in:

C2.1 – speaking and listening
C2.2 – reading
C2.3 – writing.


How is the skill assessed?

Learners will be assessed via a Controlled Task and a short Confirmatory Test to confirm that their skills meet Essential Communication Skills specifications at the required level.


The Essential Communication Skills qualification will be awarded to learners who demonstrate that their skills meet the specification in both the Controlled Task and the externally assessed Confirmatory Test.


The Controlled Task measures subject-specific skills that may not necessarily be assessed in the Confirmatory Test and must show learners using the skills in a holistic manner that requires meaningful application, relevant to real-life circumstances.

Both the Controlled Task and the Confirmatory Test are summative. Learners should take the assessments when they have developed the skills at the required level. The pass mark is set at a level to reflect this expectation.


Who is this course for?

Anyone who needs a basic English qualification, either for Apprenticeships or employment.


How long do I get to complete this qualification?

You are allowed 12 months to complete from registration. Your progress can be monitored in OneFile as we will program your start and finish dates.

Additional Information
Awarding Organisation (AO)

Pearson (Edexcel)