BTEC Certificate in ICT Systems & Principles (Level 2)


A mix of units at level 2, ideal for those new to the industry.

SKU: 501/1381/1 Categories: , , Tags: , ,
Please share:
What is a BTEC Specialist qualification?
This specialist qualification fits into the IT, Software, Web and Telecoms apprenticeship or can be stand alone. It consists of up to 24 credits for the Certificate and  37 credits for the Diploma and 72 credits for the Extended Diploma. The units can be a mixture of level 2 and level 3, so long as the minimum of 60% of the credit are atthe level of the qualification. All are offered on-line distance learning via our state of the art learning management systems and e-portfolio.,
What does the course consist of?

If you are looking for the ideal mix of IT and Engineering, then this is for you. Some of these units are the same as those in the BTEC Nationals in IT and Engineering, some even appear in both. Unlike the BTEC Nationals, there are no mandatory units, so you can mix and match IT, with Engineering or Telecoms.

    13 -20 Credits – 2 – 3 Units

    • Unit 005 – Computer Systems ( 10 Cr – Level 2)
    • Unit 006 – Systems Architecture ( 6 Cr – Level 2)
    • Unit 011 – Telecommunications Principles ( 7 Cr – Level 2)
    • Unit 013 – Mobile Communication Technology ( 10 Cr – Level 2)
    • Unit 014 – Principles of ICT System and Data Security ( 6 Cr – Level 2)

    This course is ideal if you are unable to attend a college or university, due to work or family commitments. If you are looking to further your career or you need the qualifications for a promotion or career change, this course deals with materials around engineering, Telecommunications and IT.

    What are the entry requirements?

    There are no minimum entry requirements, however a good understanding of English and Maths is essential. We can assess your abilities using the BKSB system.

    Non-native English speakers and those students who have not had their final two years of schooling in English will need to demonstrate one of the following upon entry:

    • Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR) B2
    • IELTS 5.5 (including 5.5 for reading and writing)
    • PTE 51
    • or equivalent,
    Who is this Course for?

    Those who would like a career change, or would like to get qualified in their industry.

    There are no UCAS tariff points associated with this qualification as the only grade possible is a Pass

    Additional Information
    Awarding Organisation (AO)

    Pearson (Edexcel)


    Assignments, Quiz


    Online, Remote








    6 Months